The Perfect Dessert

Want an alternative to eating those buttery and delicious chocolate chip cookies?

Microwave 2-3 tbs of oats in some water. Top with Artisana Cacao Bliss or chocolate chips, coconut, butterscotch chips, basically whatever you want! Your still eating a sweet treat, just minus the calorie laden butter, nutritionless white flour, and other ingredients that really aren’t necessary. Also, I just read an article (sorry, can’t find it!) that said the carbs in oatmeal may help you fall asleep easier.  Basically, this dessert rocks all around. Just don’t go too overboard with the toppings! I especially wouldn’t add any nut butters since the fat in it will just sit in your body overnight instead fueling your daily movement like when you eat it in the morning.

Other news: AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME race last Saturday! OMG, I felt so amazing after it. I ran in the top 7 varsity race (ahhh!) because our real varsity team was at another meet and was so nervous beforehand. What I have loved about xc this season is how my group works so much as a team. The top 7 girls were the girls I’ve been running with all season, and we all stuck near eachother the first mile or two. I helped motivate one girl in my group who was having trouble breathing and wanted to quit- even a simple reminder to breathe in her nose out her mouth seemed to help her tremendously.  Seriously, running isn’t just an individual sport- you need your team members to push through it when it gets hard. I am so unbelievably thankful for the amazing support of my team (who ranges from sophomores to seniors, no less!). Even though the course was extremely hilly (the toughest meet of the entire season by far), I still ran 23:40!!! I led the girls from my school the whole first and second mile, then ran alongside another teammate until the last 1/4 mile when she pushed forward and sprinted to the finish. Major props! I was too dead to full out sprint to the end, but held my own to the finish and only 1 girl passed me in the last 300 yards.

Also- The meet last tuesday I ran a 23: 15 or so! How cool is that? A PR by far. My coach this year has been amazing. He’s new to the team but has ran in a marathon and just did a half last month where he finished top 10  in his age group. Rock on!

Conference a week from this coming Saturday, so we’re starting to taper and do speedwork. Today we did 8×400 about 1:43 each with 2 min rest in between. Tomorrow is recovery run and then we have 2 more speed work outs between tomorrow and conference. The rest will just be nice easy runs. The season is coming to a close, but I don’t want it to end!!!! This has been my favorite sport season and I’m sad I’m just starting to enjoy xc when this is my last year. I hope I have time to be on some time of intramural or club sport during college, now that I’m through my awkward stage.

Ugh, now I have to start my hw (fml anyone?) Its already 9 PM grrrrr. AP physics=no fun when you do poorly on a few 10 point quizzes in a row, and AP lit comp=OBNOXIOUS when you have a 400 pg book to read, 10 1 page poetry journals to write, and a 4-5 page participation essay all do on the same day (a week from wednesday), and no, I have not started. WOOHOOO. BUT DON’T WORRY, I have a four day weekend (and the SAT II’s, klajdlajdsf;ljalksdjfl;)

Ok, I’ll stop complaining and do my work. Adios chicos!

Leave a Reply

