Calming down… Kind Of.

After my mental breakdown which I managed to capture in my last blog post, I’ve slowly, but surely calmed down. That stupid essay is done (I’ll admit, not my best work) but I’m still struggling with college stuff. After a college counselor meeting on Saturday though I feel much better about my essays. No worries. All college things will get done. I’m no longer as stressed.

In other news, cross country is officially over 😦 I’m really going to miss it. I made some great friends this year across all of grades and it was so fun. My coach was awesome and I’m sad that I’m a senior and will no longer have the chance to run on the team anymore. Luckily though, my group is going spinning on Wednesday because a friend’s mom owns a spin studio! I’ve spun probably 4 or 5 times and its so fun/hard/amazing. My new work out schedule now that xc is over will definitely include spinning and more cross training work since my shin splints are still hanging around. Anyone have good ideas for workouts for me to stay in shape? I might join Lifetime Fitness, a gym around our area (I’m not sure how far the span from the Chicago area, but maybe the exist around you!). Tons of high schoolers belong there so I’d always have friends to go with and they have classes which is something I’m looking for. My family actually used to belong but my family canceled the membership since I couldn’t drive at the time so it was pointless for everyone but my mom.  I’m excited to start doing some new work outs though!

In other news, my heart goes out to a family who lost their daughter in a hit and run accident. The daughter was in college and was hit while crossing the street. Such a horrible, horrible thing to happen. I’m acquaintances with the brother and have been in classes with him, and I can honestly say he is one of  the nicest and sweetest guys I’ve ever met. I’ve said that even before this awful event occurred. I wish I knew him better so I could be there for him right now. For a moment I considered writing him a note or something telling him that, and in some ways I think it would be a good thing and a bad thing. We’ll see. I don’t see him at school (and obviously he’s won’t be here for a little while) but I hope one day I can be there for him.

I feel like a lot of things going on right now aren’t the greatest, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel. First quarter ends this week and after that I hope things will get easier. Who knows. Ok, I’d try to make a decent ending to this post, but I’m so distracted/saddened at the moment that its hard to focus.

Night ya’ll

Leave a Reply

