At Last…

Finally, I think things have calmed down. I will submit my early decision application to Vanderbilt in just a few hours. I’m excited and nervous about this decision. I think I have a pretty good chance of getting it, so it was really a huge decision to apply ED (meaning, if I get in, I HAVE to go there, I’m bound to the school). But lets be honest, Vanderbilt is a great school. Nashville is a great city, its seems small to me since I live near Chicago, but I don’t want the hustle and bustle of city life that I’m used to. I love how Vanderbilt seems kind of secluded from the city- the campus is so quiet in the morning! You would never know you were in the heart of Nashville. Also, their facilities are great. I know I’m going to be so happy there.

Funny story- I decided to apply ED a week ago. The apps are due tomorrow. I had no essays written. But, in a week, I have them all written and I’m very pleased with them. Hopefully, the admissions officers like them enough to take me šŸ™‚

School has calmed down. The quarter ended, so for some reason their was a nice break in homework this past week allowing the perfect opportunity for me to complete my college apps.

Now onto food…

I obviously haven’t had much time to photograph what I eat, but I’ll tell you what I’ve been doing on schooldays. You all are probably going to get mad at me. Let me preface this by saying THIS IS NOT FOR WEIGHT LOSS. It is the only thing that fits in my schedule and doesn’t require me to eat the nasty, high fructose corn syrupy, hydrogenated oil cafeteria food.

Breakfast: Either oatmeal topped with cinnamon, or, more frequently due to time crunch, a Luna Peppermint Stick bar (OMG so good!)

Lunch: … ummm… see… this is where it gets a little difficult. I dont have time in the morning to pack my lunch. So I either throw a little snack in my bag for lunch (my lunch period is around 12:30), or if I forget, I don’t eat at that time. I do, however, eat when I get out of school at 2:40. These lunches have included turkey and cheese with lettuce on whole wheat bread or arnold sandwich thin with 0% Fage, some lettuce/spinach, topped with a Sunshine Falafel burger (delish!). I often eat a ton of random stuff, so don’t worry that I’m not eating enough. I much rather be able to prepare a fresh, healthy meal in my home than eat whatever I can scramble together at school.

Dinner: Whatever mommy makes šŸ™‚ I really haven’t had any desire at all for steak for the past two months, so I generally don’t eat that when she makes it. My mom is great though and will sometimes throw an extra chicken breast on the grill for me.

Dessert: Halloween candy needs to get away from me. Its dangerous. I’ve been trying to eat less chocolate in hopes that my acne will clear up, but I’m pretty sure its coming from all the stress I have on me. I hate acne. Mine has never, ever, been this bad. Yuck.

I did make peanut brittle on a whim yesterday! And its really good too! I was watching Down Home with the Neely’s for like 5 minutes, and in the 5 minutes they made Cashew Brittle. It looked easy enough, so I just went right into the kitchen and cooked some up with peanuts.

Here’s how it went:

1/2 white sugar

1.5 tbs of agave nectar (I didn’t want to use corn syrup like they did)

Cook that up with a candy thermometer. They said wait until it reaches 310 degrees, but my candy thermometer wouldn’t stay so I did it all by sight. When the candy reached a nice coppery color, take it off the heat. Don’t just turn off the stove, actually move the pot to either another burner or the counter. I then added some Planter’s Salted Peanuts (we didn’t have unsalted), about .5 tbs of regular unsalted butter, and about 1/3 ts of baking soda. Stirred it all up, and spread it out on a cookie sheet topped with parchment paper and sprayed with PAM. I let it cool for a good hour or so before I cracked it into little pieces. It was so good! It has just the right amount of hardness to it. I’m not sure how the salted peanuts affected it, I think with unsalted it might be a little bland. Maybe future experiment???

So, I implore you all to try making it. I know it may not be the healthiest thing, but it sure beats all those Snickers and Reeses calling your name.

Also, a cool trick Michael Chiharello showed on his TV show is to fill the pot you used to cook the candy with water. Since the caramel sticks the the sides and won’t come off, boiling some water will dilute the sugar and therefore get your pot caramel free!

 

Leave a Reply

